Week calendar for time blocking
Task scheduling is done on two levels:
- determine what needs to be done by when
- determine when you will work on which task for how long
For the latter type of task planning, there is a calendar view in addition to the list view. This will show you a familiar weekly calendar. If you connect Husky to your Outlook calendar, you will already see all your appointments there. You can schedule the execution of your tasks by adding time blocks to your calendar.
- How do you add time blocks to your calendar?
- How do you change the schedule?
- How do you complete tasks?
- What tasks do you see in the left-hand column?
- What is the difference between Task duration and Time blocks?
- How do you view a colleague's tasks?
- How do you integrate with an existing calendar?
In the left-hand column, all outstanding tasks are ready. You drag the task from that column to the calendar and create a time block. Your task will fade in the left column to indicate that this task is already scheduled for the week you are viewing.
You can then drag the same task to another free moment to create a second time block. This means you intend to work on that task at two points in time. Click on the task title to display the sidebar and see when you intended to work on that task, possibly spread over several weeks.
Also in your task list you can see that (a) time block(s) are scheduled for this task, because an icon appears next to the deadline.
The color of a time block is determined by the status of the task. Many time blocks will therefore be blue: not started. If a time block is scheduled after the deadline of your task, it will be marked in red and we will show the deadline of the task.
- Move a time block to another starting point
Drag the block as soon as a hand is shown. Do not place your mouse on the task title.
- Make a time block longer or shorter
At the bottom of a cube there are three dots, there you can make the cube longer or shorter. The minimum is 15 minutes.
- Remove a time block
A cross appears in the upper right corner of a block. If you click on it, you will remove the time block, but not the task.
You can finish tasks by ticking them off, or by changing the status to Finished.
You can do this by clicking on a task/time block, which makes the sidebar appear. Next to the task title is a checkbox.
You can also tick a task from your Dashboard, from the list view of tasks, or in a sidebar with the Tasks pane of a channel/moment/cost/KPI/note.
In your task calendar you can see which tasks have been completed.
That depends on where you look at the Tasks calendar:
- Account (top navigation, next to Plans)
- If you're working on multiple plans at the same time, this might be your favorite place.
- All tasks are shown, supplemented by the context information in which plan the task is located.
- Plan (left menu in a plan)
- Because you have already chosen a plan, only tasks from this plan are shown in the left-hand column.
- In the calendar you can see all tasks, but only tasks from this plan have a white background. The other tasks have a grey background. If there are tasks from another plan, this context information will also be shown.
- Project (submenu for a project)
- Because you have already chosen a project, only tasks from this project are shown in the left-hand column.
- In the calendar you can see all tasks, but only tasks from this project have a white background. The other tasks have a grey background. If there are tasks from another plan, this context information will also be shown.
You will only see tasks where you are designated as responsible.
At the top of the left-hand column you will find the tasks for which the deadline has already passed. It is best to deal with them first. You can also close them by clicking on the +/- icon.
Use the filter in the left-hand column to shorten the list of open tasks according to the period in which they need to be completed, or to see only newly created tasks. You can also search by task title if you know what the task was called.
You can also click on the number next to the day indication. This will show you all the tasks that need to be completed by that day.
By entering a task duration you make an estimate of how much time you will need to complete a task, or how much you will get available.
A time block indicates how long you will work on a task, or how long you will have worked on it if you also make your time blocks correspond to reality afterwards.
In the ideal world, the sum of your time blocks equals your task duration. However, the two can be used separately. Where it is interesting, they are compared with each other. For example, if you plan more time blocks than you anticipated in your task duration, then this sum lights up in red.
At the top right you can see who you are looking at the calendar of. Here you can also consult a colleague's calendar.
Maybe you are responsible for the implementation of their planning. Then you can also schedule their tasks with the help of time blocks.
It is not possible to add a time block to your own calendar for a task for which you are not responsible. In that case, you will have to create additional tasks for each individual employee.
Undoubtedly you already have a calendar application linked to your e-mail with which you keep track of appointments. Because it's best not to schedule any tasks when you have appointments, a synchronization with this calendar is necessary. Conversely, it also ensures that your Husky time blocks become visible in your calendar application. If your smartphone is set to show your calendar on that device, your scheduled Husky tasks will also be visible on that device.
In fact, there is a 2-way synchronisation for the Husky time blocks. This means that you can change time blocks in two places: logically in the Husky web application, but also in your favourite calendar. Appointments that were already in your calendar (indicated by the Outlook icon) cannot be edited from the Husky application.
For the time being, the synchronization is active with Outlook/Exchange 365. The synchronization with the Google calendar is currently being completed. If you can't wait any longer, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
How do you make the synchronization possible? From your task calendar there is a link to the My integrations dialog box. You can also do this by clicking on your name in the top right corner to change your profile. Choose Outlook to enable the connection, log in with your Microsoft account and ... ready! Wait for a few minutes to check. Afterwards, every 5 minutes we'll check if anything has changed on both platforms.